Embarking on healthier food choices

Last year was a great year for me.  I began 2012 by deciding that I wanted to become healthier.  My main focus was to become more active.  I embarked on the 90 Day BeFitin90 program on You Tube.  This was a 20 minute daily program incorporating aerobics, strength training and yoga.  My flexibility increased and I started to feel great.

As the warmer weather approached in the spring I added walking to my schedule.  Most days I aimed to do a 30 – 60 minute walk.  A natural consequence of the increase in activity was a decrease in weight. 

I then began to make some conscious decisions about what I ate.  I became a lifetime Weight Watchers member many years ago and over the last handful of years I put on weight and I am no longer at my goal weight.  I went back to Weightwatchers and started on their program again.  Did really well initially, but have become somewhat half hearted about it.  I got fed up with tracking every bite that went into my mouth which is the main premise for Weightwatchers.  Stopped going regularly.

I started to track calories on my phone using one of the many apps available for doing this.  The problem with calorie counting for me, is that I tend to spend a lot of calories on non healthy food choices.  Sure I stay within my allotted number of calories, but not such good choices. 

I really like the idea of the Weightwatchers Simply Filling program.  The constant food tracking is not required if it is a Simply Filling food choice.  I only have to track the extras and use my 49 Weekly Points Allowance (WPA) for that.

Then a few days ago I discovered that Weightwatchers now have a Phone App.  Using their Online tools didn’t always work for me, if I am not infront of the computer I forget to log it, whereas the phone is always with me.  So I have decided to get an on line Weightwatchers membership and get the App for my phone and away we go.

I really want to use the Simply Filling approach and thought that this blog might help me to do that.  So here goes ….

Leave a Reply

I Breathe I'm Hungry

Low Carb. Gluten Free. Delicious

Simply Filling: Simple and Filling Food Choices

My journey to healthier food choices

aLittleLessJen

Jen's weight loss journey.

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

Mama Mouse Says

♡Recipes & reviews for healthy living♡

La Petite Gourmande Anglaise

An irreverent assault on French cuisine

Danica's Daily

My journey to healthier food choices

A Girls Journey From Fat to Fat-Free

My journey to healthier food choices

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

