Taco Egg Muffins (2 Points+)

TACO EGG MUFFINS ( 2 Points+ )

 

Taco Egg Muffins

 

Ingredients

  • 3 – 6 inch stone-ground corn tortillas
  • 12 Jennie-O Lean Turkey Breakfast Sausage Links, cooked according to package instructions and cut in half width-wise
  • 12 Tablespoons roast tomato salsa (or your favorite salsa)
  • 2 cups liquid egg white or egg substitute (1 small box)
  • 1/4 cup (1 ounce) finely shredded low-fat Cheddar cheese
  • 2 Tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro, optional
  • Extra Salsa for topping, optional

Instructions

  • Preheat your oven to 400.
  • Brown up a package of Jennie-O Lean Turkey Sausage.
  • Spray your muffin pan with nonstick spray and add in your tortillas.  I used 3 corn tortillas cut into 8 wedges, with 2 wedges per muffin tin.
  • Slice your cooked sausages in half and add 1 sausage to each muffin cup.
  • Top with 1 Tbsp of Salsa.
  • I think that the recipe calls for a bigger muffin tin than what I was using.  The recipe says to use 3 Tbsps Egg Whites, however, I only had room for 2 Tbsps per muffin cup.  I used egg beaters.
  • I had to bake my cups for 20 minutes to get them browned, cooked through and to where they sprang back to the touch.  (The recipe says 10 minutes.)
  • Top each muffin with 1 tsp of cheese.
  • Place pan back in the oven for 1 minute if needed to get it to melt.

This recipe came from Danica’s Daily one of my fave blogs.

2 responses to this post.

  1. […] lunch I packed up a salad and two of the Taco Egg Muffins.  I guess they are technically a breakfast food, but I like them for lunch too.  They remind of a […]

    Reply

  2. […] was basically just a repeat of yesterday, those very yummy Taco Egg Muffins and some […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

I Breathe I'm Hungry

Low Carb. Gluten Free. Delicious

Simply Filling: Simple and Filling Food Choices

My journey to healthier food choices

aLittleLessJen

Jen's weight loss journey.

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

Mama Mouse Says

♡Recipes & reviews for healthy living♡

La Petite Gourmande Anglaise

An irreverent assault on French cuisine

Danica's Daily

My journey to healthier food choices

A Girls Journey From Fat to Fat-Free

My journey to healthier food choices

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

