Day 4

Monday morning’s are always a little rushed for me.  The family comes over for dinner every Sunday and as a treat my two grand-daughters sleep over (ages 3 and 7).  So in the morning I have to remember to allow time for getting two extras ready.  We have to leave the house by 8am in order for me to drop the 7 year old off at school and then I take the 3 year old home.

So I need to allow time for getting myself ready, fixing my lunch to take to work with me and getting a school lunch ready too – although my hubby usually steps in and makes the school lunch for me.

So while getting ready I quickly toasted up a mini Blueberry Bagel with 1 Tbsp Cream Cheese (4 Points+).

For lunch I packed up a salad and two of the Taco Egg Muffins.  I guess they are technically a breakfast food, but I like them for lunch too.  They remind of a quiche, which I love.  I am sure that I must be able to set up a link for those Taco Egg Muffins, because I already have them in my recipe section.

If you see a link then you will know that I have figured that one out!!!!!!

I left dinner in the fridge marinading …….

This time I need to remember to take a picture!!!!  And I need to figure out how to get the picture from my phone to the computer!!!!!!!!!!

Let’s see that”s two things I need to get figured out this evening before I actually publish this!!!!

Caribbean Steak ( 7 Points Plus)

Serves 4

  • 4 Tbsp Honey
  • 1/4 Cup Lime Juice
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp Oil
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp Mustard ( I used Dijon)
  • 1 tsp Chopped Garlic
  • 1/3 tsp Lime Zest
  • Salt and Pepper to Taste
  • 4 x 4oz Lean Top Round Steak

Combine all ingredients in a large freezer bag and allow to marinade for a few hours

Preheat Barbecue or grill of your choice.  Cook to preferred level or doneness.

Per Serving:  375 Calories, 19g Fat, 32g Protein, 19g Carbs, Trace Fibre (7 Points Plus)

This came from Saving Dinner on their Mega Menu-Mailer.

I had this with some small red / white potatoes and a cauliflower/brocolli mix.  I rang my daughter-in-law to get a recipe from her that she had tried for a Better than Butter Sauce.  I tried that this evening over my vegetables.  It was very good.  When she made it she left out the Tarragon because she didn’t have any in her cupboard.  I think I will leave it out next time too, it was a little too over-powering.  I did think that it might be good to try with a little bit of freshly grated Parmesan in it, just a little for a cheesy flavour.

Better than Butter Sauce

2 tsp cornstarch
1/2 tsp chicken bouillon granules
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp onion powder
1/8 tsp tarragon
dash pepper
1/2 c plus 2 tbsp fat-free milk
2 tbsp water

1. In a small saucepan, combine first six ingredients. stir in the milk and water until smooth bring to a boil over medium heat; cook and stir for 1 min or until thickened and bubbly serve over hot cooked vegetables.

Nutrition Facts: 2 tbsp equals 14 calories, trace of fat ( trace of saturated fat), 1 mg cholesterol, 110 mg sodium, 2 g carbohydrate, trace fiber, 1 g protein. (0 Points Plus)

Well, in light of the not very good stats that I had on my FitBit.  I did get on the treadmill for a 20 minute brisk walk/jog, so that should up my steps for today.

I am now going to watch some TV and enjoy a nice bowl of fruit salad, topped with 1/4 Cup Liberte 0% Vanilla Fat Free Yoghurt sprinkled with 1 Tbsp Shredded Coconut.  Yummy!!!!!

I will finish this off in the morning with my daily stats …….

DAILY STATS

25 Points Plus (48 WPA remaining)

Earned 2 Activity Points

FITBIT STATS

8,278 steps (I achieved the over 5,000 goal)

16 floors climed (I achieved the over 10 goal!)

3.95 miles travelled

856 active score

Got 2 badges!!!!

5000 Steps

10 Floors

 

Leave a comment

Simply Filling: Simple and Filling Food Choices

My journey to healthier food choices

aLittleLessJen

Jen's weight loss journey.

Mama Mouse Says

♡Recipes & reviews for healthy living♡

Danica's Daily

My journey to healthier food choices

A Girls Journey From Fat to Fat-Free

My journey to healthier food choices

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.