Day 5

I was pretty pleased when I looked at my FitBit stats this morning. I obviously needed a bad week to motivate me. So I set myself two small goals, 5,000 steps per day and 10 flights of stairs per day. I know that today I will have no problem with the steps because I have my Zumba class tonight. I discovered Zumba back in the summer and I love it. I was somewhat of a Disco Queen back in the late 70’s ( !!! ) so have always enjoyed dancing. So to discover a form of exercise that is actually more or less dancing to great up-beat music was a great find for me. I go twice a week Tuesday and Thursday evenings. The class is not too big and we have a great instructor.

My class is at 7pm, I don’t finish work until 5:30, so the dinner thing is usually a bit of rush. Picking up some fast food on the way home would no doubt be the easy option, but I really do try to stay away from fast food. I like to try my best to stick to “simple and filling food choices” and most fast food does not fall under that category!!!

So on a Tuesday I usually turn to the trusty old slow cooker (crockpot). That way I have something cooking while I am at work, all I need to do is prepare some simple sides when I get home.

Now that my litle intro for the day is done – I need to get ready for work, have some breakfast, fix my lunch and pop the ingredients in my slow cooker! So here goes …..

For breakfast today I tried some of the Egg Creations French Toast Blend

egg creations
To quote their website ….

  • Egg Creations French Toast Blend is  the latest liquid egg offering from Burnbrae Farms, proud egg producers of a  wide variety of egg products such as Naturegg Omega 3, Omega Pro, Organic, Free  Run and Naturegg liquid eggs, Break-Free, Simply Egg Whites and Omega Pro  Liquid Eggs.  Egg Creations French Toast Blend comes  in two delicious flavours (Cinnamon and Maple). Made from real egg whites and  other wholesome ingredients, Egg  Creations French Toast Blend can help you pull together a quick  and nutritious favourite meal that the whole family will love. Just pour, dip  and cook…it’s that simple!  Easy to make  and ready to serve in minutes.  It’s also important to know that Egg Creations French Toast Blend is  cholesterol and fat free making it perfect for those on cholesterol or fat  reduced diets or for those looking to provide healthy options for their families.  And, Egg Creations  French Toast Blend is a source of 9 vitamins and minerals.

I used the cinnamon flavour, although I must admit the cinnamon flavour didn’t particularly shine through!!  But it was good nonetheless.  At 1 Points Plus per 50g serving that is great in my book.  It was enough to dip two slices of bread in.  I cooked them in a skillet with butter flavor spray.  Served with some of my fave E D Smith No Sugar Added Syrup ( 3 Tbsp for 30 calories).  I usually only have 2 Tbsp at 0 Points Plus.  That together with a Yogurt, gave me a nice breakfast for just 5 Points+.

By the way my favourite bread is Silver Hills Little Big Bread.  To quote them …

  • At Silver Hills, we have two simple goals: bake wholesome, great tasting bread and inspire healthier living through healthier choices. To help achieve our goals, we make bread the way we believe it should be – as simple, organic and delicious as possible. Made with sprouted, organic whole grains, Silver Hills breads and bagels are loaded with fiber, protein and fantastic flavor. We use pure, natural ingredients and keep out anything we can’t pronounce.

silver hills bread

Their Little Big Bread is only 110 calories for 2 Slices i.e. 1 Points+ per slice.  How good is that!!

Lunch was basically just a repeat of yesterday, those very yummy Taco Egg Muffins and some salad.

So great to rush in from work and be greeted with the smell of BBQ chicken ….

Barbecue Crock Pot Chicken ( 5 Points+ )

Serves 4

  • 2 boneless skinless chicken breast halves
  • 1 Cup Ketchup
  • 2 Tbsp Brown Sugar
  • 2 tsp Worcestershire Sauce
  • 2 tsp Low Sodium Soy Sauce
  • 2 tsp Cider Vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp Red Pepper Flakes
  • 1/3 tsp Garlic Powder
  1. Place above ingredients in crockpot.
  2. Cook on high for 3 to 4 hours, or on low for 6 to 8 hours or until chicken is fully cooked.
  3. Shred or cut up the chicken, place it back into the BBQ sauce in the crockpot, blend well so that all the chicken pieces are coated.

Per Serving:  149 Calories, 1g Fat, 15g Protein, 22g Carbs, 1g Fibre (5 Points+)

This recipe came from the Saving Dinner Mega Menu-Mailer

My Zumba class tonight was great as always.

I noticed when I got home though that my FitBit was at less than 10,000 steps.  Usually after my Zumba class I have gone over that amount, but then I realised that today I particularly spent a lot of time at my desk.  I was working on a large document.

I know I promised myself I would make sure that I did over 5,000 every day to earn a FitBit badge, I was pretty close to the 10,000 step badge, so I hoped on the treadmill and walked/jogged for 10 minutes!  That did it!!!!!

I then went up and down the stairs here at home to reach the 10 steps that was my minimum goal!!!!

DAILY STATS

27 Points+ (47 WPA remaining)

Activity Points Earned: 13 Points+

FITBIT STATS

Steps –  10,259

Stairs – 10

Miles – 4.56

Active Score – 824

10 Floors10000 steps

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Bruce on February 6, 2013 at 9:03 pm

    Well done love you tons. Sven

    Reply

Leave a Reply

I Breathe I'm Hungry

Low Carb. Gluten Free. Delicious

Simply Filling: Simple and Filling Food Choices

My journey to healthier food choices

aLittleLessJen

Jen's weight loss journey.

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

Mama Mouse Says

♡Recipes & reviews for healthy living♡

La Petite Gourmande Anglaise

An irreverent assault on French cuisine

Danica's Daily

My journey to healthier food choices

A Girls Journey From Fat to Fat-Free

My journey to healthier food choices

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

