Day 9 – Weekly Menu Plan

I usually get my menu plan sorted out this morning, so that I can head off to the store and have everything in the fridge ready. Then I don’t need to be running to the store on my way home from work. I also find it helps with last minute impulse buying, such as a treat at the checkout!!!!!!! Stopping to buy something on the way home from work, when I am generally tired and ready for dinner is NOT a good idea!

  • Sunday – (Family Dinner) Chicken Tortilla Casserole, Tex-Mex Tossed Salad, Tropical Pineapple Orange Delight, Mini Pineapple Muffins
    Monday – Curried Beef, Brown Rice, Steamed Broccoli
    Tuesday – Carolina Crock Pot Pork, Whole-Wheat Hamburger Bun, Coleslaw, Baked Oven Fries
    Wednesday – Easy Beef & Beans Burritos, Green Salad
    Thursday – Cod with Cilantro & Lime, Baby Potatoes, Green Salad
    Friday – Ginger Chicken Breasts, Chinese Coleslaw, Fruit Salad

The other thing I like to do is more or less plan out my eats for the day .. Saturday that does not always happen.

This evening we are going to a fundraiser dinner & dance for the High School Girl’s Choir. Things like that are usually a challenge as I don’t know what to expect food wise. I understand it is a roast beef dinner, so should be relatively easy to work out the nutritional info, but obviously not until after the event!

Thoroughly enjoyed my breakfast this morning.  I had the last of the Taco Egg Muffins, a banana, a yogurt and I remembered that I had some Mini Pumpkin Spice Muffins, they are only 1 Points Plus each which is great (I had two!).  Breakfast came to 6 Points Plus.

Then it was off to do some shopping, I had a few different places to go to.  I use Estee Lauder make-up and I was just about out of their eyelash primer, so that entails a trip to Sears at the Mall.  I figured if I was at the mall I might as well get some steps in and walk the length of the mall!!  I had received a 40% off voucher for Ricki’s and I needed some new black trousers, so I stopped there.  It was quite exciting to be able to buy a pair a size smaller than the ones I was wearing.  Don’t you just love it when that happens!

I stopped at the Asian Supermarket to buy some Won Ton Wrappers for a new recipe that I had seen and wanted to try.  Then I had something to return to Wal-Mart, by the time I had done all that it was around 1:30pm and I had had no lunch.  As I was leaving Wal-Mart I walked by McDonalds and my stomach started growling and complaining about it’s lack of food!  I told myself “you’ll be home soon – you aren’t going to die of starvation”.  So when I got in the first thing I did before even putting anything away was to have a simple lunch.  I just had a couple of slices of Silver Hill’s Little Big Bread with 1 Tbsp reduced fat Peanut Butter and a yoghurt.  (6 Points Plus).

I needed some 2% pineapple greek yoghurt for something I am planning on making tomorrow.  All they had were 4 individual pots, so I had one with my lunch.  When I went to their website to get a picture I noticed it was 1 1/2%, the one I bought today was 2%.  But I don’t think we are going to worry about half a percent!!!  I don’t think anything can beat greek yogurt, it is so rich and creamy!!!  The Oikos stuff is delicious.

greek yogurt

I spent the afternoon making something that is DEFINITELY NOT a simple and filling food choice.  When I worked out the points plus info for this one I decided I would probably give it a miss.

Gluten Free Valentine’s Chex Mix (6 Points Plus)

Valentine's Chex Mix

Serves 22

  • 9 cups Rice Chex Cereal (gluten free) 1 cup White Chocolate Chips 1/2 cup Peanut Butter 1/4 cup Butter or Margerine 3/4 cup Powdered Sugar 1/2 cup red, white and pink candy coated chocolate candies (I used Smarties) 1/4 cup Red or Pink Sprinkles

 

In a large bowl place cereal.

In small microwavable bowl, microwave baking chips, peanut butter and butter uncovered on High 1 minute 30 seconds, stirring every 30 seconds, until melted and smooth.

Pour peanut mixture over cereal, stirring until evenly coated.

Place 1/2 of the cereal mixture in 1-gallon food storage bag. Add powdered sugar. Seal bag; shake until well coated. Spread on waxed paper to cool, for about 15 minutes.

Meanwhile, stir candies and sprinkles into remaining cereal mixture. Spread on waxed paper or foil to cool, about 15 minutes.

In serving bowl, mix both cereal mixtures together.

Makes 22 servings – 1/2 cup each

Per Serving: 200 Calories, 10g Fat, 25g Carbs, 0g Fibre, 3g Protein (6 Points Plus)

 

Special Touch Look for decorated cellophane bags in craft or paper goods store. Fill with mixture and tie with festive ribbons for a Valentine gift.

Cooking Gluten Free? Always read labels to make sure each recipe ingredient is gluten free.

This recipe is courtesy of Betty Crocker

I bought some cute little cellophane bags covered in hearts and put 1 cup of Chex mix in a bag.  I made these for friends and family and so did 11 bags.  That’s a huge 400 calories or 12 Points Plus per bag.  I am a little concerned that for myself I might wipe out the bag in one go – 12 Points Plus.  I am allowed 26 Points Plus per day and an extra allowance of 49 Points Plus for the week.  Today is the start of a week, so I guess technically if I went over my daily allowance they could come from my WPA – now it sounds like I am justifying having a bag!!!!!!  The family will be over for dinner tomorrow, so I will be giving out the bags then.

Then it was time to get ready for the Valentine’s Sweetheart Ball at the local High School.  They did such a nice job on decorating the gym and tables.  It really looked lovely.

Dinner started with a simple little salad – mixed greens, red onion, sliced strawberries, mandarin oranges and a Raspberry Poppyseed dressing

Main course – roast beef, mashed potatoe and a green bean medley

We were then entertained by the Chamber Choir and the Jazz Choir.  They were very good.  The daughter of one of our friends sang in both choirs.

Dessert – 2 Mini Cheesecakes (1″ square”) and a belgian chocolate covered cookie.  They presented it on the plate very nicely with fresh raspberries and a coulis.  I just had one of the little cheesecakes and my hubby helped out by eating the other!  He is so good that way!

It was a very nice evening.

DAILY STATS

26 Points Plus + 3 Weekly Points Allowance = 29 (46 Weekly Points Allowance remaining)

FITBIT STATS

Steps – 7,742 ( I was tempted when I got home to jump on the treadmill and reach the 10,000 step level – but I was too tired!)

Stairs – 16

Miles – 3.45

Active Score – 613

5000 Steps10 Floors

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Susan on February 10, 2013 at 8:24 am

    You are doing great after we went for dinner we got invited out when we got home to Ranaes house that is when I lost control first really out of control moment and I am paying the price bloated and tummy troubles you sound like you are doing awesome great for you

    Reply

    • Hey we all get days like that. I am only on Day 9. You have been doing this since January 2nd, so don’t be too hard on yourself. Today is a new day. Don’t worry about yesterday.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

I Breathe I'm Hungry

Low Carb. Gluten Free. Delicious

Simply Filling: Simple and Filling Food Choices

My journey to healthier food choices

aLittleLessJen

Jen's weight loss journey.

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

Mama Mouse Says

♡Recipes & reviews for healthy living♡

La Petite Gourmande Anglaise

An irreverent assault on French cuisine

Danica's Daily

My journey to healthier food choices

A Girls Journey From Fat to Fat-Free

My journey to healthier food choices

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

