Day 11 – “Just another Manic Monday!”

What a frantic rush to get out the door this morning.  Grandchildren slept over last night and I need to leave the house by 8am to get the 7 year old to school in time.   Bethany (7 year old) woke up 3 times during the night with pains in her legs (growing pains).  I felt so sorry for her.  I ended out getting up and getting a bag of ice, wrapped them in a towel and held those on the back of her legs for a while.  So I wasn’t feeling much like leaping out of bed and getting ready this morning.

So I basically had a quick bowl of oatmeal (4 Points plus).

I generally like to take lunch to work with me, but just didn’t have time to sort out anything this morning.   So I was debating what to get.  There are several fast food places around our store.  But I decided to jump in the car and drive to Safeway.  I got a really delicious Spinach Dijon Salad  with baby spinach, sweet onion dijon vinaigrette dressing, hard boiled egg, shrdeed colby cheese, sliced almond, shredded carrot and red cabbage.  When I dumped it out of the container it filled a dinner plate.  I got a couple of plums and a Oikos Greek Yoghurt.   So I had a simple and filling lunch for 8 Points Plus and I enjoyed every bite!!!

I found a recipe that I wanted to try for Lasagna Cups using wonton wrappers instead of pasta.  The whole idea intrigued me, but I ran out of weekend, so maybe I will make some this evening.  It is so easy to lift something like that out of the fridge and off I go!  Instead of the last minute “what shall I take for lunch dilemma”.

I have been looking some extra cardio to do at home, but the time factor is always a problem for me.  So strolling through Costco at the weekend I spotted “The Firm Express”.  When I read the cover it is twelve 20 minute workouts, you do them on a Monday, Wednesday and Friday over a 4 week period and then start all over again.  I am all for variety.

Cycle 1 Ignite - Sculpt

So I came straight in from work and decided to do the 20 mins before I got going on dinner.  Week 1 is Cycle 1 Ignite.  So today was “Sculpt” .  I really enjoyed ity and the 20 mins just whizzed by.  They say it is a 20 min workout with the intensity of 40 mins.  I believe them.  I was a sweaty mess by the time I had finished, but at the same time really glad that I did it.

This evening we had some Curried Beef.  I don’t cook with a lot of beef.  When I buy ground beef I always like to get the extra lean.  I didn’t take a picture, it wasn’t particularly exciting to look at but it tasted pretty good and was a simple think to pull together at the end of the day.

Curried Beef ( 6 Points+ )

Serves 4
•1 cup chopped Onion
•1/2 cup chopped Green Bell pepper
•1 pound 95% Lean Ground Beef
•1/3 cup Shredded Coconut
•2 Tbsp Tomato Paste
•1/3 tsp Ground Ginger
•1 1/3 tsp Salt
•2/3 tsp Curry Powder
•2/3 tsp Chili Powder
•1/3 tsp Turmeric
•1/3 tsp Cardamon
•1 1/3 Tbsp Oil
•1 cup Water

Brown ground beef and drain off any fat.

Heat oil in a large skillet with a tight-fitting lid over medium heat. Add chopped onion and bell pepper. Cook until tender crisp.

Add cooked ground beef, coconut, tomato paste, spices and water.

Bring to a boil the reduce heat, cover and simmer for 20 to 25 minutes or until vegetabls are tender. Uncover and cook until mixture thickens.

Serve over brown rice.

Per Serving: 371 calories, 12g Carbs, 22g Fat, 26g Protein, 2g Fibre ( 6 Points+)

DAILY STATS

26 Points Plus

1 Weekly Points Allowance (39 WPA remaining)

4 Activity Points Plus Earned  – 20 Min High Intensity Workout

FITBIT STATS

Steps 6,336

Stairs 11

Miles 2.77

Active Score 804

5000 Steps10 Floors

Good start to the week – 2 badges earned.  I would like to work towards them both being pink badges 10,000 steps and 25 stairs.

Leave a Reply

I Breathe I'm Hungry

Low Carb. Gluten Free. Delicious

Simply Filling: Simple and Filling Food Choices

My journey to healthier food choices

aLittleLessJen

Jen's weight loss journey.

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

Mama Mouse Says

♡Recipes & reviews for healthy living♡

La Petite Gourmande Anglaise

An irreverent assault on French cuisine

Danica's Daily

My journey to healthier food choices

A Girls Journey From Fat to Fat-Free

My journey to healthier food choices

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

