Day 11

Tuesday is Zumba day.  It earns me 12 Activity Points too and even though I am one big pink, wet mess by the time the class finishes, I love it!!!

Valentine’s Day on Thursday and my hubby and I celebrate 33 years!   Here in Alberta, Canada we have a statutory holiday on Monday called Family Day.  So we usually take off for the long weekend and turn it into a anniversary weekend.  We are going down to Great Falls, Montana.  There is nothing like some good old US Retail therapy!!!!!  Roll on Friday.

This morning I whipped up some Protein Pancake Mix. I find the recipe makes 4 decent size pancakes. So I generally just use half of the mix and safe the rest for tomorrow. I topped them with a sliced banana and poured on some ED Smith No Sugar Syrup.  They are so yummy. They total 4 Points Plus and satisfy my appetite all morning.

Protein pancakes

For lunch I made myself a nice wrap.  I still have some of those Flatout wraps in the freezer, so I spread one with 2 Tbsp of Hummus (which I love!!), some shaved black forest ham and some soft butter lettuce.  Rolled it up and cut into two nice sized pieces.  Also a Oikos 0% Cherry Greek Yoghurt and some frozen cherries.  It all came to 8 Points Plus for a nice simple but filling lunch.

By the way if you have never had frozen cherries, they are great.  I bought a bag of frozen Dark Sweet Cherries at Costco.  I like to eat them straight from the freezer.  They taste like you eating a cherry popsicle only better.

Tuesday is usually my slow cooker day.  Tonight we are having Carolina Crock Pot Pork (7 Points plus).   After the pork has cooked all day, I shred it up and serve it in a bun.  The hubby usually has a hamburger bun and I use one of the Sandwich Thins that seem to be all the rage at the moment.  For sides I make a simple coleslaw and some Baked Oven Fries (2 Points Plus)

Carolina Crock Pot Pork (7 Points+)

Serves 4

  • 1 1/8 pound Pork Shoulder Roast
  • 1/2 cup chopped Onion
  • 1 tsp chopped Garlic
  • 1 tsp Dry Mustard
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • 1/4 cup Tomato Paste
  • 1/8 cup Worcestershire Sauce
  • 2 Tbsp Cider Vinegar
  • 2 tsp Olive Oil

Cut pork into 3 or 4 smaller pieces.

Place all ingredients in crock pot.

Cook on high for 5 to 7 hours or low for 8 to 9 hours, depending on your crockpot.

When done, shred pork with two forks and serve with crock pot juices.

Per Serving:  286 Calories, 20g Fat, 18g Protein, 7g Carbs, 1g Fibre (7 Points+)

This is the first time trying the Baked Oven Fries.  I was quite intrigued by this recipe when I saw it.  I did my potatoes into really think fries (french fry size).  As we were having pulled pork sandwiches I used soeme Cajun seasoning.  Browsing the internet I see there are so many variations out there.  My normal intention is to eat as soon as I get in from work, tonight that didn’t happen.  So by the time I got back after Zumba, I wasw starving.  I didn’t cook the fries quite long enough, they were cooked but hadnt really crisped up yet.  So I will have to give these another try sometime.

Baked Oven Fries (2 Points+)

4 Servings

  • 2 medium Potatoes cut into thin fries
  • 1 large Egg White
  • 1 tsp of favourite seasoning (I decide this dependent on what I am serving them with)
  • Cooking spray

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Cover a baking sheet with foil or parchment paper. Spray with cooking spray.

Add egg white to a bowl, add the seasoning of your choice. Beat until frothy and then pour over the potatoes. Toss so that all the potatoes are coated.

Spread potatoes into one layer on the baking sheet trying not to have the fries touch.

Cook for 30-40 mins, flipping halfway through. Remove once crispy and cooked through. Cooking time will depend on the thickness of the fries.

Per Serving: 86 Calories, 1g Fat, 18.7g Carbs, 2.3g Fibre, 3.4g Protein (2 Points+)

VARIATIONS:

Cajun Fries: 1 tbsp (15 mL) Cajun seasoning; 1/4 tsp (1 mL) dried oregano.

Spicy Cheese Fries: 1/4 cup (50 mL) grated Parmesan cheese; 1/4 tsp (1 mL) cayenne pepper.

Sesame Fries: 2 tbsp (25 mL) sesame seeds; 1 tbsp (15 mL) soy sauce; 1/2 tsp (2 mL) dried cumin.

I usually cheat somewhat with the coleslaw and buy a bag of broccoli coleslaw mix.  I like it much better than the traditional cabbage coleslaw.

Broccoli Coleslaw

When I make a single portion at lunch time.  I mix 1 Tbsp Fat Free Mayo with some rice wine vinegar and then add some coarse black pepper.  I love the flavour.  So for dinner this evening I just increase the recipe so there’s enough for hubby!

DAILY STATS

26 Points Plus (39 WPA Remaining)

Earned 12 Activity Points Plus ( Weekly total 16 Points Plus)

FIT BIT STATS

Steps 11,265

Stairs 15

Miles 4.94

Active Score 936

10000 steps10 Floors

Leave a Reply

I Breathe I'm Hungry

Low Carb. Gluten Free. Delicious

Simply Filling: Simple and Filling Food Choices

My journey to healthier food choices

aLittleLessJen

Jen's weight loss journey.

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

Mama Mouse Says

♡Recipes & reviews for healthy living♡

La Petite Gourmande Anglaise

An irreverent assault on French cuisine

Danica's Daily

My journey to healthier food choices

A Girls Journey From Fat to Fat-Free

My journey to healthier food choices

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

