Day 12

Middle of the week is here. Valentine’s/Anniversary tomorrow then off to Great Falls after work on Friday.

My daughter-in-law shared this on her blog A Girls’ Journey from Fat to Fat Free today and I loved it ….

10 weight loss commandments

Dr. Oz also has a set of commandments which I love ..

1. Thou Shalt Not Wear Pants that Stretch – Your clothing is an early-warning system for weight gain. When it’s getting hard to snap your jeans, you know it’s time to be vigilant. Wearing stretchy clothes allows you to live in ignorance of how your body is growing, making it easier to pack on pounds without knowing it.

2. Thou Shalt Not Keep Fat Clothes in Your Closet – When you keep the clothes you wore at an unhealthy weight, it gives you a back-up plan if the pounds don’t come off. Instead, force yourself to stay on track by 86ing your “fat pants.”

3. Thou Shalt Not Eat Meat That Walks on Four Legs More Than Once a Week – Meat that comes from an animal with 4 legs is higher in saturated fat (the unhealthy kind) than that which comes from 2-legged animals such as chickens, or animals with no legs, like fish. Plus: women who eat large amounts of red meat more than once a week have a 50% higher chance of dying from heart disease and have higher cancer rates.

4. Thou Shalt Not Graze – Plan your meal before you open the refrigerator, get what you need, and close the door. Opening it throughout the day leads to impulsive choices and overeating.

5. Thou Shalt Not Eat After 7:30pm – When you eat late at night you are more likely to be eating in front of the TV (when you won’t pay attention to how much you’re putting in your mouth) and you’re more likely to pick high-calorie snacks.

6. Thou Shalt Not Pile Food More than 1 Inch High or Within 2 Inches of the Plate Edge – Larger portions equal more calories. ‘Nuff said.

7. Thou Shalt Not Chew Food Less than 20 Times Per Bite – Chewing allows your body to realize that you are eating food, prompting it to create a sensation of fullness at the appropriate time. When you don’t chew enough, you get ahead of that process, eating well past when you are actually satisfied.

8. Thou Shalt Not Covet Thy Neighbor’s Plate – Spend your day nibbling bites on someone else’s sandwich or afternoon snack, and you will add on 1,000 calories easy.

9. Thou Shalt Not Carry Small Bills – Nothing loves a small bill better than a vending machine. When you have them at the ready, you are one step closer to an impulsive, calorie-loaded afternoon slip up.

10. Thou Shalt Not Eat While Standing Up – Eating sitting down enables you to be aware of what you’re eating and eat it slowly so that your body can tell you your full before it’s too late.

Finished the remainder of the Protein Pancake batter this morning.   Was all out of bananas (how did that happen I always have bananas on hand!!)  So just a little E D Smith Sugar Free syrup this morning.

I think my favourite food is Tex Mex.  So tonight we are having Easy Beef & Bean Burritos.  I usually make my hubby’s with a 12″ flour tortilla and change mine up to a Flatout Flatbread.  A 12″ white flour tortilla is about 8 Points plus and the Flatout flatbread is 3 points plus.  So by doing that it reduces the points value of the Beef & Bean Burrito down to 8 Points plus.

Note to self — must get some more of the Flatout flatbread at the weekend, they don’t sell them here in Canada.

Think dinner will be late this evening.  I have an appointment as soon as I close up the store at 5:30 to get my nails done.  So I probably won’t get home until almost 7 and I have my Visiting Teachers dropping by at 7:15.  I need to get my The Firm Express workout done too, Wednesday is cardio day.  I know if I eat and sit down, I won’t do it!!!!  Maybe I will change as soon as I get in from my nails and get the 20 minute workout in before Laurel and Lindsay arrive.  I will be a bit pink and sweaty but ……….

Cycle 1 ignite

The evening didn’t go quite as planned.  I didn’t get home from nail appointment until 7:45, so I missed Laurel and Lindsey.  I was determined to get that 2nd workout in – how can you not make an extra effort on the first week of a new program!!!!  So by the time I changed and did this.  It was well after 9 o’clock by the time I had dinner.  Thankfully dinner was easy because I had already done the prep work, so I basically had to just throw it together and serve with a small tossed green salad.

Easy Beef and Bean Burritos (11 Points+)

Serves 4

  • 1/3 pound Extra Lean Ground Beef
  • 1/3 cup Oatmeal 1/2 Tbsp Chili Powder
  • 1/2 tsp Ground Cumin
  • 1 (10oz) package frozen chopped Spinach, defrosted
  • 2/3 cup Chunky Salsa
  • 1 (16oz) can Black Beans, drained
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • 1/3 cup Colby Cheese, shredded
  • 2/3 cup Cilantro, chopped
  • 4 (12″) Flour Tortillas

In a large nonstick skillet, brown ground beef and oatmeal over medium heat for 8 to 10 minutes, or until no longer pink, stirring occasionally.  Remove from heat, pour off any drippings and blot well with paper towels.

Season beef mixture with chili powder, ground cumin, defrosted spinach, chunky salsa, black beans and salt and pepper to taste.  Remove from heat.

Stir in grated cheese and chopped cilantro.

To serve, spoon beef and bean mixture in the centre of each tortilla,

Fold bottom edge up over filling, fold sides into centre, overlapping edges and roll up.

Per serving:  491 Calories, 16g Fat, 24g Protein, 62g Carbs, 10g Fibre (11 Points+)

DAILY POINTS PLUS

25 Points Plus (39 WPA remaining)

Earned 4 Activity Points Plus (Total for the week 20)

FIT BIT STATS

Steps – 6,499

Stairs – 12

Miles – 2.86

Active Score – 602

5000 Steps10 Floors

Leave a Reply

I Breathe I'm Hungry

Low Carb. Gluten Free. Delicious

Simply Filling: Simple and Filling Food Choices

My journey to healthier food choices

aLittleLessJen

Jen's weight loss journey.

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

Mama Mouse Says

♡Recipes & reviews for healthy living♡

La Petite Gourmande Anglaise

An irreverent assault on French cuisine

Danica's Daily

My journey to healthier food choices

A Girls Journey From Fat to Fat-Free

My journey to healthier food choices

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

