Wednesday 27th – No Brainer Day!

Who would have thought that there are so many special days.  After discovering yesterday was National Pistachio Day I was eager to see what today was!

February 27th is No Brainer Day!  A whole day devoted to obvious choices? It’s a no brainer! 

no brainer day

My husband is going to like it when I share that with him.  We own a printer cartridge business and one of the posters we have in the store says “Refilling your printer cartridges is a no brainer”!!!!!

No Brainer Carousel

BREAKFAST

Greek Yoghurt, Chocolate & Blue Parfait ( 5 Points Plus)

Fruit Juice (2 Points Plus)

This morning I had another of those yummy breakfast parfait that I made on Monday.  This time I used blueberries and for the cereal portion I used the no sugar added Alpen cereal.  It was so-oo good!  It made quite a big serving too.  Layered it all up in a large glass again.  3/4 Cup 0% Greek yogurt, 1  cup Blueberries, 1/2 cup 2 point cereal (I used Alpen muesli today) and 1  tsp Mini Chocolate Chips.

LUNCH

Chicken & Roasted Vegetable Salad ( 7 Points Plus)

Banana ( o Points Plus)

Another one of those fabulous pull it out of the fridge lunches.  So today I had the chicken breast that I had cooked up last night whilst making dinner.  The final portion of those yummy roasted vegetables from Saturday.  I also packed some baby spinach and 2 Tbsp crumbled Goat Cheese.  I heated up the chicken and roasted vegetables in the microwave.  Put the spinach leaves on a plate, topped with the heated chicken and vegetables and sprinkled with the cheese.  What a yummy no-fuss lunch that was!  I actually wished I had my camera with me.  It looked very pretty on the plate!  Bright green spinach, red grape tomatoes, orange butternut squash and the creamy white of the cheese.  Delish!

DINNER

Skinny Broccoli Alfredo ( 8 Points Plus)

Dinner tonight I am thinking will not impress the hubby.  According to him “It isn’t a meal if it doesn’t have meat!”  An Alfredo Sauce based on creamed cauliflower intrigues me?

Well, this was quite labour intensive for what it was.  I don’t think it is a keeper, so I won’t be posting a copy of this recipe into the “dinner” category.  I wasn’t too keen on the texture of the Cauliflower Cream Sauce.  Also as it cooled, the parmesan in it seemed to congeal.  I grilled up a Hamburger patty for my hubby so that he would have some meat!

I did take a picture, but then when I went to post it realised my camera was acting up.  Although to be honest it wasn’t a very exciting picture!    A portion of this was set aside for lunch tomorrow, hopefully I will enjoy it a bit better than I did tonight.

Skinny Broccoli Alfredo (8 Points Plus)

Serves 3

  • 1/3 Head Cauliflower, chopped
  • 1/4 Tbsp plus 1 tsp Olive Oil, divided
  • 1 Shallot, minced
  • 1 Clove Garlic, minced
  • 1/8 Cup Fat Free Milk
  • 1/8 Cup Chicken Broth
  • 1/4 Cup Parmesan Cheese, grated
  • 5oz High Fibre Pasta
  • 2 Small heads Broccoli
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Bring a medium pot of salted water to a boil.  Add the cauliflower and simmer for 20-25 mins until the cauliflower is tender.  Remove the cauliflower.  In the same water, quickly parboil the broccoli for 2 mins.  Set aside.  Finally, add the pasta and cook according to package directions.  Drain,

Meanwhile in a saute pan, add 1/4 Tbsp Olive Oil and Shallot.  Saute over medium heat for about 5 mins until tender.  Add half of the minced garlic and cook for 1 min.  Add the evaporated milk and cook for 2 mins.

Add the cauliflower, shallot mixture, parmesan cheese, chicken broth, salt and pepper to a blender.  Blend until creamy  and smooth.  Set aside.

Wipe skillet clean with a paper towel.  Add 1 tsp olive Oil over medium heat.  Add remaining garlic and broccoli.  Cook for 1-2 mins.

Turn the heat down to low and add the Cauliflower Alfredo Sauce and Pasta.  Serve.

Two servings are for dinner and one is for lunch later in the week.

EXTRAS

Apple (0 Points Plus)

Celery Sticks with Salsa Cheese Ball (2 Points Plus)

Cracker Chips (2 Points Plus)

DAILY STATS

26 Daily Points Plus

Leave a Reply

I Breathe I'm Hungry

Low Carb. Gluten Free. Delicious

Simply Filling: Simple and Filling Food Choices

My journey to healthier food choices

aLittleLessJen

Jen's weight loss journey.

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

Mama Mouse Says

♡Recipes & reviews for healthy living♡

La Petite Gourmande Anglaise

An irreverent assault on French cuisine

Danica's Daily

My journey to healthier food choices

A Girls Journey From Fat to Fat-Free

My journey to healthier food choices

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

