Thursday 28th – National Public Sleeping Day

So today is National Public Sleeping Day!! That one made me smile.

Train, bus and desk: three of the best places to fall asleep publicly today. Swimming pools, staff meetings, and construction sites: three places where it’s probably best not to celebrate this holiday today.

national public sleeping day

I remember when I lived in Bristol, England I used to take the bus to work and it was quite entertaining to watch people sleeping.  I loved it when their necks bobbed and they then tried to make it look like they really hadn’t nodded off!!

On one occasion as a family we drove from England to France for a family vacation.  We took the overnight ferry, so drove through the night once we were in France.  My poor hubby was exhausted.  When we eventually stopped for a bathroom break and some munchies.  He found a public bench laid himself down and nodded off.  I am sure if I was to dig through old family photos I would find a picture of him laid on that bench in France sleeping, oblivious to all around him, including the kids laughter!!!  The picture above is not my hubby it is just a National Public Sleeping Day pic!  He didn’t wear his white shirt and tie and carry his briefcase when we were vacationing in France!!!!

BREAKFAST

Ham & Cheese Scone Sandwich (6 Points Plus)

Fresh Fruit (0 Points Plus)

Fruit Juice (2 Points Plus)

Ham and Cheese Scone Sandwich

Another super easy breakfast.  Last slice of that really good Ham & Cheese Scone.  I served this with an egg in a mug to make a nice little sandwich.  I lightly sprayed a mug with cooking spray, Add a handful of baby spinach leaves, poured on 1/4 Cup Egg Beaters (2 Egg Whites) and salt and black pepper to taste.  Zapped in the microwave for 2 minutes.  Slightly warmed up the scone.  Served with banana and some blueberries.  Feeling VERY satisfied!

LUNCH

Skinny Broccoli Alfredo (8 Points Plus)

Banana (0 Points Plus)

Wow, that breakfast was really filling.  2pm and I thought I had better eat my lunch.  Didn’t even have a mid morning snack.  Easy lunch today, leftover portion of the skinny Broccoli Alfredo from dinner last night.  As I said yesterday I don’t really think this recipe is a keeper!  It’s not awful, but 8 Points Plus seems a lot for what it is.

DINNER

Shrimp Tacos ( 7 Points Plus)

Corn on the Cob (2 Points Plus)

Took the shrimp out to defrost while I was at work.  Really looking forward to this one.  I like shrimp, I love avocado and I like cilantro, so to me this sounds like a winner.  I like the fact that it is speedy to prepare and cook.  I  usually don’t get home until around 6.  I need to get this prepared, cooked and eaten all before 7, as I need to be somewhere for 7pm!  Immediately following that I have my Zumba class at 8:30pm.  So tonight is a busy evening.

Well no problem getting this one fixed.  It really was a speedy meal.  I was a little annoyed to go in the fridge to get everything out and realise that somehow or another I had forgotten to buy Cilantro.  It was very good nonetheless.  Another one of those meals where I get to serve it up slightly different for lunch tomorrow.  I put a small container of the shrimps and a separate container of the avocado salsa in the fridge, and tomorrow for lunch I will make lettuce wraps.  I would make these again I really enjoyed them.  I was halfway through my meal when I realised I didn’t get a picture – oops!!  My hubby smiles when out comes the camera to take pictures – I explained to him that is what people do on blogs!!

Shrimp Tacos (7 Points Plus)

Serves 3

  • 3/4 lb Medium Shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 2/3 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 2/3 tsp Chipotle Chili Powder
  • 1/3 tsp Cumin
  • 2/3 tsp Kosher Salt
  • 2/3 Cup Chopped Tomatoes
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp onion, diced
  • 1 tsp Lime Juice
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp Cilantro, minced
  • 2/3 avocado, peeled and finely chopped
  • 4 Corn Tortillas

In a bowl toss the shrimp, olive oil, chili powder and salt together.

Heat a skillet over medium heat high heat.  Add the shrimp and cook for 1-2 mins on each side.  Set aside 1/3 of the shrimps for lunch tomorrow.

Meanwhile toss together the tomato, chopped onion, lime juice, salt, pepper, avocado and cilantro in a bowl.  Set aside 1/3 Salsa for lunch tomorrow.

Serve over Corn Tortillas, 2 Tortillas per person.

Store the shrimp and salsa separately for tomorrow’s lunch.

EXTRAS

Lollipop (1 Points Plus)

DAILY STATS

26 Daily Points Plus

18 Activity Points Earned (2 Zumba Classes 30 Minute and 60 minute!)

Leave a Reply

I Breathe I'm Hungry

Low Carb. Gluten Free. Delicious

Simply Filling: Simple and Filling Food Choices

My journey to healthier food choices

aLittleLessJen

Jen's weight loss journey.

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

Mama Mouse Says

♡Recipes & reviews for healthy living♡

La Petite Gourmande Anglaise

An irreverent assault on French cuisine

Danica's Daily

My journey to healthier food choices

A Girls Journey From Fat to Fat-Free

My journey to healthier food choices

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

