Saturday – Weekly Menu Plan

To begin here is my plan for main meals this week, all courtesy of The Slender Kitchen

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore, Rice, Steamed Veggies (7 Points+)

Hashbrown Quiche with Salad (6 Points+)

Baked Pasta with Chicken with Salad(10 Points+)

Quick Stovetop Beef Chili with Salad (7 Points+)

Beef & Broccoli with Brown Rice (6 Points+)

Fish and Chips, Steamed Veggies (6 Points+)

Buffalo Blue Cheese Turkey Burgers with Salad (9 Points+)

So here it is the start of a new week.  I have been feeling good about my food choices.  Lots of new and interesting recipes to try out.  The part I love the most is that pretty much all the main meals above have planned extras to use in other meals, mainly the lunches.  I work full time so lunch means I just have to open the fridge, take out a container with some fruit and I’m ready.  It’s great.  As I said before I get bored of sandwiches, so these menu plans are fantastic for me.

So this is my plan for today – sometimes things can change as the day goes along, so we shall see.  Sometimes those extras can be more on a Saturday!!  I glanced over today’s meal plan and picked up the things I needed on the way home from work.  Then this afternoon while the slow cooker is doing it’s thing I can go shopping for the rest of the things I need.  Healthy food choices does mean a little more planning ahead.

BREAKFAST – Raspberry Lemon Ricotta Pancakes (5 Points+), Blueberries (0 Points Plus)

LUNCH – Spinach & Artichoke Soup (3 Points+), Roasted Vegetable Calzone (6 Points+)

DINNER – Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore (4 Points+), 2/3 cup Rice Pilaf (3 Points+), Steamed Veggies (0 Points+)

EXTRAS – 5 Points+

TOTAL – 26 Points+

BREAKFAST

Raspberry Lemon Ricotta Pancakes (5 Points+)

Made these pancakes this morning.  The recipe makes 2 pretty decent sized pancakes, with the inclusion of the Ricotta Cheese, that protein fix keeps me going for longer too.  I had mine with some ED Smith Sugar Free Syrup, my husband had his laden with Blueberry Syrup!  While he was eating he asked what was in them – I told him all the ingredients except the Ricotta Cheese!   Later he noticed the recipe on the kitchen counter and said he knew there was something different going on with them.  I have to hide too much healthiness.

LUNCH

Spinach & Artichoke Soup (3 Points+)

Roasted Vegetable Calzone (6 Points+)

Spinach Soup 3Calzone 3

Lunch was a little labour intensive, but I enjoy being in the kitchen and cooking.

Okay so first of all the Spinach & Artichoke Soup – I wasn’t very keen on this at all.  So probably won’ be eating the portion for later in the week for lunch.  I just wasn’t keen on the texture or the flavour.  To be honest this is Week 3 of following these menu plans and it is the first thing I have not liked.  I probably managed about 1/2 of the bowl.

Now the other part of lunch was the Roasted Vegetable Calzone.  This I really did enjoy.  I used the Pillsbury Pizza Dough, it was a bit tricky to work with, but other than that.

Whislt I was preparing lunch I also put together dinner, as this is a slow cooker meal.  I always have errands on a Saturday afternoon.  So I will be looking forward to coming home to a ready made dinner!!

DINNER

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore (4 Points+)

2/3 cup Rice Pilaf (3 Points+)

Steamed Veggies (0 Points+)

Chicken Cacciatore 2

I had to smile at my hubby at dinner time, he took a bite and said now this is good.

He didn’t even try any of the lunch.  He didn’t like the look of the soup and as soon as he saw me dicing the eggplant he said he didn’t want any of the Calzone either!!

I agree with him this Cacciatore was good and even better was the fact that I took one of the chicken thighs and put it in a container for tomorrow to make a chicken quesadilla.  Then I took two of the thighs and some of the sauce and put in a container in the fridge to make a pasta bake with for Monday!

EXTRAS

Well, the plan was to have 5 Points+ worth of extras today.  That didn’t happen!  We went to the movies to see Parental Guidance (very cute!) and we had some Frozen Yoghurt.  As I am usually able to hardly eat any of my 49 Weekly Points Allowance.  I will just say today that I have had them all!!!

Leave a Reply

I Breathe I'm Hungry

Low Carb. Gluten Free. Delicious

Simply Filling: Simple and Filling Food Choices

My journey to healthier food choices

aLittleLessJen

Jen's weight loss journey.

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

Mama Mouse Says

♡Recipes & reviews for healthy living♡

La Petite Gourmande Anglaise

An irreverent assault on French cuisine

Danica's Daily

My journey to healthier food choices

A Girls Journey From Fat to Fat-Free

My journey to healthier food choices

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

