Thursday – National Potato Chip Day (or Crisps for my English friends!)

Believe it or not today is National Potato Chip day – I grew up calling these chips.

national potato chip day

When we lived in England my fave was Walker’s Cheese & Onion, here I tend to go for Sour Cream & Chives.  I am not a huge potato chip fan, it’s not that I don’t like them, but chips are not something that I feel I must have.  Whenever they release new flavours we often wonder when they will do Prawn Cocktail!!!  My daughter’s fave!

They just released three new flavours I saw on the TV yesterday – Sriracha, Chicken & Waffles, or Cheesy Garlic Bread.  Chicken & Waffles???  These flavours are only available in the States, I read that they won’t be available in Canada.

Anyway – enjoy a packet of crisps today if you must!!!!

Anyone walking by right now would think I have a problem – I wondered what chips were in our snack box here at the store – Smokey Bacon – Sour Cream & Onion – BarBQ – Sweet Chili & Sour Cream.  I wondered what the points value was – 6 Points+ per bag.  I have 6 extra Points+ today!  Shall I?  No I don’t think so!!!!!

So back to the reality of trying to eat 26 Points Plus per day!!!!

Here is my 26 Points Plus plan for the day:

Breakfast – Toast & Peanut Butter, Greek Yoghurt, Banana, Juice – 6 Points+

Lunch – Asian Beef Lettuce Wraps, Fruit – 7 Points+

Dinner – Smokin Lime Salmon, Salad – 7 Points+

Extras – 6 Points+

BREAKFAST

2 slices Reduced Calorie Toast – 2 Points+
1 Tbsp Peanut Butter – 2 Points+
Greek Yoghurt – 1 Points+
Banana – 0 Points+
Prune Juice – 1 Points +

Breakfast 14th

This morning I woke up with the thought “I really fancy some toast and peanut butter”!!!!  Obviously for someone who is trying to make healthy food choices, a thought like that has to be dealt with correctly!!  When I have bread I like the Silver Hills bread.  Their website states

At Silver Hills, we have two simple goals: bake wholesome, great tasting bread and inspire healthier living through healthier choices. To help achieve our goals, we make bread the way we believe it should be – as simple, organic and delicious as possible. Made with sprouted, organic whole grains, Silver Hills breads and bagels are loaded with fiber, protein and fantastic flavor. We use pure, natural ingredients and keep out anything we can’t pronounce.”

Their low calorie bread is called Little Big Bread –

We’re absolutely thrilled with Little Big Bread—our delicious light-on-calories loaf that’s big on sprouted flavor.

I sliced up some of my banana and turned my toast into a sandwich.  That together with some yoghurt and juice was a great filling breakfast.

LUNCH

Asian Beef Lettuce Wraps – 7 Points+
Apple – 0 Points+
Grapes – 0 Points+

Lunch used up the leftover portion of Beef & Broccoli that I made last night plus the 1/4 cup cooked brown rice that I had set aside.  Put a few lettuce leafs in a container and away I went.  I think there must be an art to eating lettuce wraps, because last time I had them at work my desk was a mess by the time I had finished.  Same thing happening today – every time I take a bite the rice falls out the other end.  No picture as three rolled up lettuce leaves didn’t look very impressive, but it was very tasty – even though some of it was scooped and eaten with my fingers!!!!

DINNER

Smokin Limed Salmon – 6 Points+
Crash Hot Potatoes – 2 Points+

Dinner 14th

On my menu plan that I did at the beginning of the week I had Fish & Chips for tonight.  So when I went shopping at the weekend, they had no cod.  They had Tilapia, but not keen on that all.  So I decided to pass on that.  I knew I had some Salmon in th freezer.  The recipe for the Smokin Limed Salmon serves 6.  I like to buy the whole Salmon at Costco and then I come home and cut into fillets and freeze.  I have a few recipes for freezer salmon meals.  I divide the marinade for this Smokin Limed Salmon between three freezer bags and then pop 2 fillets in each bag, get out as much air as I can and then seal.  I then put the three bags all in one large freezer bag.  Write on the outside of the bag what it is and then I have three already prepared salmon meals ready to do.  The convenience of those ready prepared meals you can buy at the supermarket, but these are ready prepared by me and I know exactly what is in there!!!!!  I took out of the freezer this morning, so it should be defrosted and ready to grill when I get home.  Tonight is my Zumba class, it isn’t until 8:30, so I like to eat pretty quickly when I get in so that I am not heading off to all that activity with a full tummy!!!  I don’t get home until nearly 10 so that is a little too late to eat!

So tonight I tried out a style of potato that I saw last week on the pioneer woman website.  Apparently she got the recipe from Jill Dulpeix an Australian cook.  You know what the internet is like.  Where did a recipe actually begin.  Anyway they are called Crash Hot Potatoes and I wanted to try them, but with not quite so much olive oil going on.  On the original recipe it states you can do however many potatoes you like.  I wanted to use my small toaster oven, when there’s only two at home.  I really hate heating up the big oven.  So I cooked up 12 small potatoes, I had 4 of them.  Including the olive oil, they were just 2 Point+ for a serving.  I was running a little late this evening, so I took them out of the oven at 25 mins.  If I had longer I think I would have left them to crisp up for another 5-10 mins.  Maybe next time.

EXTRAS

Mini Bag of Brookside Chocs – 2 Points+
Hummus & Rice Crackers – 3 Points+

Leave a Reply

I Breathe I'm Hungry

Low Carb. Gluten Free. Delicious

Simply Filling: Simple and Filling Food Choices

My journey to healthier food choices

aLittleLessJen

Jen's weight loss journey.

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

Mama Mouse Says

♡Recipes & reviews for healthy living♡

La Petite Gourmande Anglaise

An irreverent assault on French cuisine

Danica's Daily

My journey to healthier food choices

A Girls Journey From Fat to Fat-Free

My journey to healthier food choices

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

