Tuesday – National American Diabetes Association Alert Day

Today is National American Diabetes Association Alert Day, it is celebrated annually on the fourth Tuesday of every March.  This day is a one-day “wake-up call” to inform the American public about the seriousness of diabetes and you are  encouraged  to take the diabetes risk test and learn about your family’s history of diabetes.

As we live in Canada here is a link to the Canadian Diabetes Association.

My husband has two brothers with Type 1 Diabetes.  One of them died a number of years ago caused by his diabetes.  He has another brother who has had both legs amputated to the knee and is awaiting a kidney transplant, again caused by his diabetes.  With a family history I like to try and make sure my hubby eats healthy balanced meals.

Well after Easter dinner rolling over into a Monday dinner as well (there were lots of leftovers).  It was good today to get back to some simple foods.

Breakfast

Breakfast 26th

I had an “unfried” egg with a slice of Canadian Back Bacon served up in a Multi Grain Thin Bun (with a little HP Brown Sauce – the Great British Sauce!!)  A small bowl of 0%  Vanilla Greek Yoghurt and a small glass of Fat Free Milk.  All of these items are on the Weightwatchers Simply Filling List and were 100% Simply Filling.

Lunch

Lunch 26th

For lunch I had a piece of the Honey Garlic Chicken that was left over from Saturday.  I didn’t reserve any of the sauce.  Just the chicken and I had it with a nice salad of green leaf lettuce, grape tomatoes and shredded carrot with a Fat Free Dressing.  A small bowl of 0% Greek Yoghurt and a small tsp of Sugar Free Strawberry Jam on top of it, together with an Apple.

Everything was Simply Filling except for the piece of chicken, when I cooked it on Saturday it came out with an extra 1 WPA.

Dinner

Dinner 26th

A  late dinner tonight.  I had my Zumba class from 7-8pm.  I started the prep work before I left and finished cooking it when I got home.

This evening I made Picadillo which I served with Brown Rice and a sprinkling of Low Fat Cheddar Cheese.

I was a little intrigued with this Picadillo.  It sounds Mexican and it had diced potatoes and diced carrots in it, not ingredients I would normally associate with Mexican food.

So I was wrong Picadillo is Cuban

Picadillo is Cuban-style hash and a favorite meal of most Cubans

As I browsed around the Internet I found so many recipes for Picadillo, many of them with a lot more spices added than this one.  This was very mild.  To be honest I could not really see the point of the whole pepper.  I am not sure that it even added any flavor!!  But it is was a simple meal to prepare and in the middle of the week that is important and it was 100% Simply Filling and there is a portion left tomorrow to turn into a “sloppy joe” style sandwich at lunchtime!  Recipe from The Slender Kitchen.

Leave a Reply

I Breathe I'm Hungry

Low Carb. Gluten Free. Delicious

Simply Filling: Simple and Filling Food Choices

My journey to healthier food choices

aLittleLessJen

Jen's weight loss journey.

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

Mama Mouse Says

♡Recipes & reviews for healthy living♡

La Petite Gourmande Anglaise

An irreverent assault on French cuisine

Danica's Daily

My journey to healthier food choices

A Girls Journey From Fat to Fat-Free

My journey to healthier food choices

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

