April 4th – National Chicken Cordon Bleu Day!

Apparently today is National Chicken Cordon Bleu Day!  I found the following on Food.com

National Cordon Bleu Day

Contrary to popular belief, it’s not blue cheese that the “bleu” in Chicken Cordon Bleu is referring to. “Bleu” is just a fancy French way of saying that this classic dish is worthy of a blue ribbon — whether you fill it with Swiss, mozzarella or even, yes, blue cheese.

I had a glance at some of these recipes.  They could properly do with being “healthified” somewhat!!  That picture does make my mouth water though!!!!

Hungry Girl has a recipe that is definitely more Weightwatchers friendly at only 5 Points Plus per serving …

HG's Stuffed Chick Cordon Bleu
HG’s Stuffed Chick Cordon Bleu
Rhapsody in Bleu
Warm chicken wrapped around melted cheese and juicy ham that won’t break the calorie bank!? Sign us up…
Ingredients: One 5-oz. raw boneless skinless lean chicken breast cutlet 1 wedge The Laughing Cow Light Creamy Swiss cheese, room temperature 1 oz. (about 3 slices) 97 – 98% fat-free ham slices salt and black pepper, to taste
Directions: Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Put chicken in a large sealable plastic bag, squeeze out as much air as you can, and seal. Using a meat tenderizer or a can, carefully pound chicken through the bag until it is about 1/4-inch thick. Remove chicken from the bag, and season to taste with salt and pepper on both sides.
Lay the chicken flat and spread the cheese wedge over it. Evenly layer the ham slices on top of the cheese. Starting with one of the longer sides (or any side, if it’s square), tightly roll up the chicken breast cutlet, and secure with toothpicks.
Place chicken roll in a baking dish lined with foil and/or sprayed with nonstick spray, and then cover the baking dish with foil.
Bake in the oven for 20 minutes. Carefully remove the foil covering the dish. Continue to bake (uncovered) for an additional 15 minutes, or until chicken is cooked through. Enjoy!
MAKES 1 SERVING
Serving Size: 1 chicken cordon bleu (entire recipe) Calories: 222 Fat: 4.5g Sodium: 692mg Carbs: 2g Fiber: 0g Sugars: 1g Protein: 40g
PointsPlus® value 5*

So back to my day ….

Breakfast – Simply Filling + 1WPA

Baked Berry Breakfast Quinoa

I had another serving of the Baked Berry Breakfast Quinoa which I have really enjoyed this week.  There are two more portions left in the fridge, one for breakfast tomorrow and one to give to my daughter to try.  She is a Quinoa fan, so I think she will like this different spin on using it.

Lunch – Simply Filling + 1WPA

Lunh april 4th

 

For lunch today I had some leftovers which I really like having for lunch.  So easy to just take out of the fridge!!  I had a portion of brown rice and some of the Pork Tenderloin from last night.  Together with some blueberries and some Greek Yoghurt.  Nice filling lunch.

Dinner – Simply Filling + 1WPA

Dinner april 4th

Tonight is my Zumba class, it doesn’t start until 8:30pm so it gives me a little more time to get dinner together and eat before my class.

I made Mustard Chicken Pretzel Fingers, Baked Seasoned Fries and some mixed veg.  The only thing I would change with the chicken recipe is the mustard.  The recipe indicated yellow mustard or Dijon mustard.  I like Dijon mustard but that plus the coarse grain was a little too mustardy!!!!  I think French’s Yellow mustard would have toned it down a bit and sweetened it up a bit too.

The only non Simply Filling ingredient was the pretzels.  I weighed these out as 21g = 2 Points Plus.

Leave a Reply

I Breathe I'm Hungry

Low Carb. Gluten Free. Delicious

Simply Filling: Simple and Filling Food Choices

My journey to healthier food choices

aLittleLessJen

Jen's weight loss journey.

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

Mama Mouse Says

♡Recipes & reviews for healthy living♡

La Petite Gourmande Anglaise

An irreverent assault on French cuisine

Danica's Daily

My journey to healthier food choices

A Girls Journey From Fat to Fat-Free

My journey to healthier food choices

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

