Thai Fried Chicken

Didn’t get a chance to do this yesterday evening. I had a pretty busy day/evening. I wasn’t able to fit in a walk, which is a little annoying as I didn’t manage to reach my step quota for the day. When I look at my steps for the day, it makes me think I am a long way from the recommended 10,000 steps per day!!!

Breakfast: 166
Protein Smoothie

Lunch: 380
Meal Replacement Bar
Banana, Fresh, Sml, 6″ To 6 7/8″ Long

Dinner: 657
Thai fried chicken
Rice, Brown, Med Grain, Ckd
Tossed Salad

Snacks: 100
100 calorie

Total: 1303

FitBit: 3,982 Steps / 12 Stairs

Dinner tonight was really yummy. It is quite a lengthy list of ingredients. If I made it again I don’t think I would bother with the coconut milk for dipping the chicken in. I bought a can of the light coconut milk and I really couldn’t taste anything, probably could have just used skimmed milk and saved a little on the calories.

Thai Fried Chicken

TOTAL TIME: Prep: 30 min. Bake: 25 min.

MAKES: 6 servings

Ingredients
1-1/2 cups King Arthur Unbleached All-Purpose Flour, divided
1 cup coconut milk
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 broiler/fryer chicken (3 to 4 pounds), cut up
1/4 cup canola oil

SAUCE:
1 cup water
1/3 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup soy sauce
3-1/2 teaspoons cornstarch
2 teaspoons rice vinegar
2 teaspoons peanut butter
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
3 tablespoons minced fresh cilantro

Directions
1. Place 1/2 cup flour and coconut milk in separate shallow bowls. In another shallow bowl, combine the salt, garlic powder, ginger, cayenne and remaining flour. Dip chicken in the flour, coconut milk, then flour mixture.

2. In a large skillet, brown chicken in oil in batches; drain. Transfer to a greased 13-in. x 9-in. baking dish. Bake, uncovered, at 400° for 25-35 minutes or until a meat thermometer reads 180°.

3. Meanwhile, in a small saucepan, combine the water, brown sugar, soy sauce, cornstarch, vinegar, peanut butter, cayenne and ginger. Bring to a boil; cook and stir for 2 minutes or until thickened. Stir in cilantro. Serve with chicken. Yield: 6 servings.

Leave a Reply

I Breathe I'm Hungry

Low Carb. Gluten Free. Delicious

Simply Filling: Simple and Filling Food Choices

My journey to healthier food choices

aLittleLessJen

Jen's weight loss journey.

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

Mama Mouse Says

♡Recipes & reviews for healthy living♡

La Petite Gourmande Anglaise

An irreverent assault on French cuisine

Danica's Daily

My journey to healthier food choices

A Girls Journey From Fat to Fat-Free

My journey to healthier food choices

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

