Mini Reuben Casserole

Friday is always a busy one for me at work. I pretty much spent most of the day on accounts. Although I do always leave about 4pm to do the bank deposit and then on to the grocery store to get my shopping done. That way I don’t have to spend time on a Saturday doing that!

I always shop with a list based on a menu that I have already planned for the week. I love to try new recipes, but most recipes are based on 4 servings and there is only my hubby and I at home. So now I make a plan for the week, shop and then divide everything into two. My daughter pays me for half of the shopping and she follows the same menu plan and we just half the recipe!! No more half empty cans, jars, containers etc.

I will share my menu plan for the week in a separate post.

So Friday I didn’t get out for an official walk, although I did plenty of walking around the grocery store!!!!

Breakfast: 166
Protein Smoothie

Lunch: 290
Protein Meal Replacement Bar

Dinner: 506
Mini reuben casserole
Tossed Salad
1 Tbsp Lemon ginger dressing

Snacks: 266
1/3 cup Chocolate Bridge Mix

Total: 1228 Calories

FitBit: 5,697 steps / 7 stairs

Friday evening for dinner I used up the left over roast beef from Wednesday and made a Reuben Casserole. I was not sure how this one was going to turn out. My hubby had seen the can of sauerkraut when I shopped last week and told me a few times that he didn’t like sauerkraut! It actually was pretty tasty and he never mentioned the sauerkraut at all while he was eating it. It was well rinsed for this recipe so many it is the vinegar taste that he doesn’t really like!

I bought a salad dressing at Costco a couple of weeks ago that is fantastic. 1 Tbsp = 40 calories and it is so full of flavor.

So here is our dinner recipe for Friday night, which we had a with a tossed salad and of this delicious dressing!

Mini Reuben Casseroles

TOTAL TIME: Prep: 20 min. Bake: 20 min.

MAKES: 4 servings

Ingredients
1 medium onion, chopped
1 medium green pepper, chopped
2 teaspoons olive oil
2 cups cubed cooked beef roast
1 can (14 ounces) sauerkraut, rinsed and well drained
1 can (10-3/4 ounces) condensed cream of chicken soup, undiluted
1-1/4 cups (5 ounces) shredded Swiss cheese, divided
1/3 cup 2% milk
1/2 cup Thousand Island salad dressing
2 slices rye bread, cubed
1 tablespoon butter, melted
1/2 teaspoon onion powder

Directions
1. In a large skillet, saute onion and pepper in oil until tender. Stir in the roast, sauerkraut, soup, 1 cup cheese, milk and salad dressing; heat through. Transfer to four greased 10-oz. ramekins or custard cups. Place ramekins on a baking sheet.

2. In a small bowl, toss bread cubes with butter and onion powder. Arrange over tops. Bake, uncovered, at 350° for 15 minutes. Sprinkle with remaining cheese. Bake 5-10 minutes longer or until cheese is melted. Yield: 4 servings.

Nutritional Facts

1 serving equals 650 calories, 41 g fat (15 g saturated fat), 130 mg cholesterol, 1,782 mg sodium, 31 g carbohydrate, 5 g fiber, 37 g protein.

Leave a Reply

I Breathe I'm Hungry

Low Carb. Gluten Free. Delicious

Simply Filling: Simple and Filling Food Choices

My journey to healthier food choices

aLittleLessJen

Jen's weight loss journey.

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

Mama Mouse Says

♡Recipes & reviews for healthy living♡

La Petite Gourmande Anglaise

An irreverent assault on French cuisine

Danica's Daily

My journey to healthier food choices

A Girls Journey From Fat to Fat-Free

My journey to healthier food choices

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

