Chicken & Pita Salad

Well, my calories were good today, but I was a little annoyed with myself. I needed to go to Dollarama on my way to work and pick up some craft supplies. I saw those new Oh Henry Cookie Bars and bought one. Thankfully our dinner this evening was quite low in calories and so it all worked out okay.

Breakfast: 166
Protein Shake

Lunch: 400
Protein Meal Replacement Bar
Fig Bar

Dinner: 362
Chicken pita and salad

Snacks: 280
Oh Henry cookie bar

Total: 1,208 Calories

FitBit: 9,682 Steps / 15 Stairs

Exercise: Walking – 3 mph, moderate, 35 Min – earned 135 Calories

I really enjoyed dinner this evening. I always need something quick on a Wednesday evening as I need to be at a youth meeting at 7pm. My husband didn’t enjoy it as much as me, he complained that were too many edamame beans!!

CHICKEN AND PITA SALAD

TOTAL TIME: Prep/Total Time: 30 min.

MAKES: 4 servings

Ingredients
1 pita bread (6 inches), chopped
1 cup frozen shelled edamame, thawed
1 pound boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into 1/2-inch strips
2 teaspoons olive oil
1 package (6 ounces) fresh baby spinach
1 cup shredded carrots
2 medium tomatoes, chopped
1/4 cup crumbled garlic and herb feta cheese

DRESSING:
2 tablespoons cider vinegar
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 tablespoons soy sauce
2 teaspoons sesame seeds
1 garlic clove, minced
1 teaspoon honey
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
Dash pepper

Directions
1. Place pita bread on a baking sheet. Bake at 350° for 8-10 minutes or until lightly toasted.

2. Meanwhile, cook edamame according to package directions. In a large skillet over medium heat, cook chicken in oil until chicken juices run clear.

3. In a large bowl, combine the spinach, carrots, tomatoes, cheese, edamame and pita bread. In a small bowl, whisk the dressing ingredients; drizzle over salad and toss to coat. Divide among four serving plates; top with chicken. Serve immediately. Yield: 4 servings

Nutritional Facts
1 serving equals 362 calories, 16 g fat (3 g saturated fat), 68 mg cholesterol, 737 mg sodium, 21 g carbohydrate, 4 g fiber, 33 g protein.

Leave a Reply

I Breathe I'm Hungry

Low Carb. Gluten Free. Delicious

Simply Filling: Simple and Filling Food Choices

My journey to healthier food choices

aLittleLessJen

Jen's weight loss journey.

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

Mama Mouse Says

♡Recipes & reviews for healthy living♡

La Petite Gourmande Anglaise

An irreverent assault on French cuisine

Danica's Daily

My journey to healthier food choices

A Girls Journey From Fat to Fat-Free

My journey to healthier food choices

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

