Low Carb?

For some time now I have been reflecting on why even when I am counting points or calories, I seem to be having such a hard time losing weight. I have started to think that maybe I need to look more at the carbs that I eat. So I have decided to try low carb eating and see how my body reacts to it?

So, my goal is to really work hard at this and see what the weighing scale says next Friday. When I weighed myself on Friday morning I had stayed exactly the same. I want to see those numbers going down not staying the same!!!

With it being Mother’s Day today, I thought first of all I would wait until Monday to start. Then I decided I should just start. I was reading somewhere that too often we plan in the future when we will start, whereas really we should just begin with the next meal. I guess it’s the same with having a “bad day”, really it’s a “bad meal”. It turns into a “bad day” when we just continue in the same way for the remainder of the day, instead of getting back on track with the next meal.

I read that to begin low carb eating we should start with 20 net carbs per day. So Friday morning I got up and started!!

So here is how Friday went for me …..

Breakfast
Omelet – 2 Eggs and 2oz Shredded Cheddar

Snack 1
3 Celery Stalks with 1 Tbsp Cream Cheese

Lunch
Tuna Salad (Can of Tuna, 2 cups shredded Romaine Lettuce, and 2 Tbsp Mayo

Snack 2
1/2 Red Pepper sliced with 1 Tbsp Ranch Dressing

Dinner
Chicken breast sautéed in 1 tsp Butter, 2 cups shredded romaine lettuce, 1 roma tomato diced, 1/2 cup diced cucumber, 2 Tbsp ranch dressing, 1 Tbsp Real Bacon Bits

Snack 3
Low Carb Caramel Nut Chew Bar

Total Carbs: 19.2
Total Calories: 1,453 – this is more than I have been consuming, so this makes me a little nervous, but we shall see!!!)

FitBit: 6,069 Steps, 7 Stairs
5000 Steps

Saturday I was up bright and early with a busy day ahead. I was helping our youth group participate in a highway clean up which is a big fund raiser for us. We had to meet at 6:30am at the church. As soon as I got out of bed I put 2 eggs on to boil. Saturday took a little bit of planning and control but I did it. I was pretty pleased too because on he drive home someone had a box of Tim Horton’s Timbits and I declined!!! Hurray for me!

For dinner we were at a Church event with pulled pork on a bun etc. I managed some wise choices and turned down dessert too!

Breakfast
2 Hard Boiled Eggs diced in a bowl with 1 tsp butter, salt and pepper
1/2 cup Almond Breeze Unsweetened Almond Milk

Lunch
Ham Salad (3 Sliced Chopped Ham, 1 oz diced cheddar, 2 cups shredded romaine lettuce, 1/2 cup diced cucumber topped with 2 Tbsp Ranch Dressing

Snack
Sugar Free Jello topped with 1 Tbsp Whipping Cream

Dinner
Pulled Pork, Caesar salad (I didn’t eat any of the croutons), spoonful of coleslaw

Snack
2 Slices of Swiss Cheese
Low Carb Caramel Nut Chew Bar

Total Carbs: 19.9
Total Calories: 1,477

FitBit: 13,596 Steps, 7 Stairs
10000 steps

Leave a Reply

I Breathe I'm Hungry

Low Carb. Gluten Free. Delicious

Simply Filling: Simple and Filling Food Choices

My journey to healthier food choices

aLittleLessJen

Jen's weight loss journey.

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

Mama Mouse Says

♡Recipes & reviews for healthy living♡

La Petite Gourmande Anglaise

An irreverent assault on French cuisine

Danica's Daily

My journey to healthier food choices

A Girls Journey From Fat to Fat-Free

My journey to healthier food choices

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

