The Low Carb Approach Continues …

Since deciding to try the Low Carb Approach to eating, I did 100% on Friday and Saturday.  With it being Mother’s Day on Sunday, I was not 100% but I tried!!  All the Mothers were given a Chocolate Truffle Bar at Church and I gave mine away.  That I is a score in my favour.  Monday was a good day.  If I had a problem it was that I didn’t eat enough carbs.  I read that it’s a good idea to go with 20 carbs a day for the first couple of weeks and then slowly increase.  I went under today which apparently is not a good idea!!!

So here is how Monday went for me:

Breakfast (2.4 carbs)

2 egg omelet with 2oz cheddar grated

Snack (2.3 carbs)

2 Celery Sticks, 1 Tbsp Ranch Dressing

Lunch (3.1 carbs)

Turkey Salad (2 cups shredded Romaine lettuce, 1/2 cup diced cucumber, 3oz diced turkey, 1 Tbsp Grated Romano Cheese, 1 Tbsp Ranch Dressing)

Snack (2.7 carbs)

24 Natural Almonds

Dinner (5.2 Carbs)

Chicken Tournedos with Bacon, 3/4 cup Easy Cauliflower Gratin, 2 cups shredded Romaine lettuce, 2 Tbsp Three Cheese Ranch

Snack (1.4 Carbs)

Sausage, Spinach and Feta Bake

Total:  17.1 Carbs / 1507 Calories

FitBit:  6,402 Steps – 8 Stairs

I had a look around the internet today for a little help with low carb cooking.  I found a great website/blog called I Breathe … I’m Hungry.  Great looking recipes that I think I will be using a lot!!

I decided to make the Easy Cheesy Cauliflower Gratin to go with my dinner.  It was good, but the cauliflower seemed to take an awfully long time to cook in the microwave.  I think I might just steam it and mash it next time.

While dinner was cooking I made a Sausage, Spinach and Feta breakfast bake so I have something ready to go for the rest of the week.  It smelled delicious.  When it was cooled a little, I ended out having a piece for an evening snack.  Looking forward to breakfast this week!!

 

 

Yield: 18 muffins or 12 squares

Serving Size: 1 muffin or square serving

 

Sausage, Spinach & Feta Frittata – Low Carb and Gluten Free

A low carb and gluten free breakfast casserole recipe that is hearty and easy to make!

Ingredients

  • 12 oz. Jones Dairy Mild Sausage (roll)
  • 10 oz pkg of frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained
  • 1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese
  • 12 eggs
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened plain almond milk
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg

Instructions

  • Break up the raw sausage into small pieces and place it in a medium bowl. Squeeze any remaining liquid out of the spinach, and break it up into the same bowl as the sausage. Sprinkle the feta cheese over the mixture and toss lightly until combined. Lightly spread the mixture onto the bottom of a greased 13×9 casserole dish or 18 greased muffin cups.
  • Meanwhile, in a large bowl beat the eggs, cream, almond milk, salt, pepper, and nutmeg together until fully combined. Gently pour into the pan or muffin cups until about 3/4 the way full.
  • Bake at 375 degrees (F) for 50 minutes (for the casserole) or (30 minutes) for the muffin cups – or until fully set. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Notes

Approximate nutrition information per serving:
Per muffin: 137 calories, 10g fat, 1g net carbs, 8g protein
Per square: 206 calories, 16g fat, 1.4g net carbs, 12g protein

Read more at http://www.ibreatheimhungry.com/2013/11/sausage-spinach-feta-frittata-low-carb-gluten-free.html#H7gW6gER7b4khXjK.99

Leave a Reply

I Breathe I'm Hungry

Low Carb. Gluten Free. Delicious

Simply Filling: Simple and Filling Food Choices

My journey to healthier food choices

aLittleLessJen

Jen's weight loss journey.

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

Mama Mouse Says

♡Recipes & reviews for healthy living♡

La Petite Gourmande Anglaise

An irreverent assault on French cuisine

Danica's Daily

My journey to healthier food choices

A Girls Journey From Fat to Fat-Free

My journey to healthier food choices

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

