The Journey Continues – Week 3 – Day 1

I just cannot believe how well I am adapting to the Low Carb Nutritional Approach!  I have been reading the Atkins book and at the beginning he stated that Low Carb eating needed to be called a “nutritional approach” and not a “diet”.  I think he is right, the word diet seems to set us up for failure.  When we got to our goal weight the “diet” seems to stop whereas a “nutritional approach” to eating is more likely to continue.

I went shopping straight after work to stock up with ingredients needed for some of the recipes I intended to try from Week Two of the I Breathe I’m Hungry website.

Week Two - I Breathe I'm Hungry

Week Two – I Breathe I’m Hungry

(Technically I am pretty pleased with myself I just figured out how to make a link to Melissa’s page for Week Two when you click on the picture above!!

This week there are some delicious looking recipes to try ….

Cream Cheese Pancakes – I made a batch of these last week, at the time I thought I wouldn’t make them again.  But as the week went on I really enjoyed them.

Jalapeno Popper Soup

Jalapeno and Cheddar Muffins

Flax Pizza – I decided my husband might not be so keen to try this as I am, so I bought a package of regular premade pizza bases for him!!

Paprika Chicken – this looked pretty family friendly.  I feed my family every Sunday – so I decided this would be okay for them too.  I can make potatoes/noodles or what ever for them and have cauliflower mash myself.

Cheesy Cauliflower Puree

Meatballs alla Parmigiana

Raspberry Cheesecake Bar – I noticed these on the Week Three menu plan and thought these looked great for dessert on Sunday

One of the things I love most about these food plans is that I can get lots of prep done in advance, so Saturday morning I will get them all ready for week.

Anyway onto today and how I actually did …  I had my day all planned out and then we unexpectedly went out for dinner.  I am happy with my choice.  I had a California Salad, it was basically a spring greens salad topped with avocado, diced tomato, diced cucumber and a grilled chicken breast.  There were also dried cranberries in there (score to me because I didn’t eat those.  There was a small pile on the side of my plate when I was finished!!  It also came with some garlic bread which my hubby ate!!  It came with some signature vinaigrette dressing, I guessed it would be sugary, so I asked for ranch instead.  I think I am starting to get the idea for how to work this for me.

Daily Total:  18.7 Carbs / 1,997 Calories

FitBit:  7,232 Steps / 7 Stairs

Breakfast 3.2 Carbs

2 Cream Cheese Pancakes, 3 Johnsonville Breakfast Sausages

Lunch 5.6 Carbs

2 cups shredded romaine lettuce, 1/2 cup chopped cucumber, 4 Sundried Tomato and Feta Meatballs

Snack 0 Carbs

Chicken Drumstick

Dinner 7.8 Carbs

Grilled Chicken breast, 2 cups lettuce, 1/2 cup diced cucumber, 1/2 cup diced tomato, 1/2 avocado, 2 Tbsp ranch dressing

Snack 3 Carbs

Atkins Advantage Coconut Bar

Leave a Reply

I Breathe I'm Hungry

Low Carb. Gluten Free. Delicious

Simply Filling: Simple and Filling Food Choices

My journey to healthier food choices

aLittleLessJen

Jen's weight loss journey.

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

Mama Mouse Says

♡Recipes & reviews for healthy living♡

La Petite Gourmande Anglaise

An irreverent assault on French cuisine

Danica's Daily

My journey to healthier food choices

A Girls Journey From Fat to Fat-Free

My journey to healthier food choices

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

