Archive for March 18th, 2013

Monday – National Lacy Oatmeal Cookie Day

According to Food.com today is National Lacy Oatmeal Cookie Day

It’s all about texture (crisp!) and appearance (lace-like holes!) for lacy cookie lovers. But if you’re not so worried about looks, these crunchy cookies are perfect tea companions.

My favourite cookie ever is Oatmeal & Raisin – but I will not be making any cookies today.  But I will be striving to stick to 26 Points Plus Allowance.  Here is my plan for today:

Breakfast – Individual Rolled Oat Cups, Fresh Fruit – 5 Points+

Lunch – Roja Vieja Bowl – 7 Points+

Dinner – Black Bean Soup, Baked Tortilla Chips, Avocado – 9 Points+

Extras – 5 Points+

Breakfast

Individual Blueberry Rolled Oat Cups (5 Points+)

Banana – 0 Points+

Breakfast 16th

This morning I had another of those yummy individual blueberry oat cups that I made on Saturday.  I heated it through in the microwave and it was still very good.  I am sure they would be good with any fruit.

Lunch

Roja Vieja Bowl – 7 Points+

Grapes – 0 Points+

Lunch 18th

Lunch was once of these easy ones comprising leftovers from the weekend.  In a bowl I put some of the Quinoa I had set aside from yesterday’s breakfast and topped it with some of the meat from Saturday night.  Simple, quick and filling.

Dinner

Black Bean Soup – 5 Points+

Baked Tortilla Chips – 2 Points+

Avocado – 2 Points+

Dinner 18th

When I was fixing dinner, I thought to myself I don’t think my hubby is going to be too impressed with this one.  Firstly, where is the meat?  Secondly, not a huge fan of black beans!

I love black beans, so I really liked this soup.  It made 3 servings, one to be set aside to make Black Bean Tostados for lunch on Thursday.  So in light of my thoughts above, I also have another portion of this delicious soup is anyone wants some!  My hubby fixed himself a grilled cheese sandwich instead.

I made up some Baked Tortilla Chips to serve along side this.    I took 4 corn tortillas and each into 6 wedges.  I laid them out on a cookie sheet and sprayed with cooking spray.  Sprinkled with some salt and popped in the oven at 350 degrees for about 10 mins until crispy.  I also cooked another couple of corn tortillas whole to use for the Black Bean Tostados on Thursday.

I also 1/4 of an avocado and sliced up over the chips and drizzled with some Salsa.

It was really yummy to take a chip with some salsa and avocado and dip into the bowl and scoop up some black beans!

Extras

Sat and watched a little TV and snacked on a packet of Pop Chips (2PP) per bag and later on a mini bag of Brookside Chocs (2PP) giving me a grand total of 25PP for today.

 

Black Bean Soup (5 Points Plus)

Black Bean Soup (5 Points Plus)

Black Bean Soup

Serves 3

  • 2/3 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1 small Onion, diced
  • 2 cloves Garlic, minced
  • ¼ Tbsp Chili Powder
  • 10oz can Chicken Broth
  • 1 cup diced Tomatoes
  • 2/3 Tbsp Ketchup
  • 2/3 tsp Worcestershire Sauce
  • 1 ½ 14oz can Black Beans, drained
  • 1/3 cup chopped Cilantro
  • 1 Lime

Heat olive oil over medium heat. Add the onions and cook for 5 mins. Add the garlic and cook for 1 min.

Stir in the chili powder, broth, tomatoes, ketchup, Worcestershire sauce and black beans.

Bring to a boil and then turn down and simmer for 10 mins.

Serve with chopped cilantro and lime juice.

Two servings are for dinner

One serving is for lunch on Thursday

Sunday – March 17th – Happy St Patrick’s Day

When I came on the computer this morning, I thought the Google Irish Dancer’s were very cute.

St Patricks Day

The I was also pretty pleased when I checked my emails to see I have a new badge from FitBit …

Fitfit 250 miles

Whoa! You’ve walked 250 miles!

You and your Fitbit Tracker are going places. Keep it up.

So here is my planned out meals for today

Breakfast –Quinoa Egg Muffin, Fresh Fruit – 5 Points+

Lunch – Quick Quesadilla, Wrap, Black Beans & Rice, Shredded Cheddar Cheese – 8 Points+

Dinner – Beef Stew –  8 Points+

Extras- 4 Points+

Breakfast

Quinoa Egg Muffin – 5 Points+

Grapes – 0 Points+

When I mixed up the ingredients for breakfast, I was a little doubtful about this one.  To be honest it looked quite disgusting in the bowl.  But once they were cooked up, they were actually really good.  You get two of them per serving.  I had them with a nice dollop of Salsa and a bunch of grapes.

Lunch

Well lunch basically did not happen today which is never a good thing.  We don’t get home from church until around 2:30pm and then we eat family dinner at 5pm.  So when I do have a lunch I am really not ready for dinner.  Trouble is I tend to pick while I am in the kitchen fixing dinner.  I picked so much that I really have no idea how many points I had today.  One day does not define this whole plan though.

Dinner

Beef Stew –  8 Points+

Traditional Irish Soda Bread – 4 Points+

Dinner 17th

Got in from church and fixed up the stew and popped it in the oven.  It basically just cooked itself for 2 hours on a low heat.  I doubled up the recipe and it was very tasty.  Really enjoyed the slice of Soda Bread that I had.

My daughter over some Green Velvet Cupcakes (basically red velvet but using green food colouring instead!!!).  When you peeled away they cupcake liner they were an interesting colour, but very good.  Lovely cream cheese frosting and decorated with the cutest little green shamrock shaped sprinkles!!!!

The dinner table was pretty tacky looking but the grandkids loved it.  After dinner we had a hunt for the gold coins that the leprechaun had left!!!

I made every a bag of Magic Munch, recipe from Bakerella.  Such a cute idea.  I made lots of bags to give away!

Magic Munch

Quinoa Egg Muffin (5 Points Plus)

Quinoa Egg Muffin (5 Points Plus)

Quinoa Egg Muffins

Serves 3

  • 2/3 cup dry Quinoa
  • 1 cup diced Veggies (Zucchini, Pepper, Broccoli)
  • ½ cup reduced fat Feta Cheese
  • 2 Eggs
  • 4 Egg Whites
  • Salt & Pepper

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Cook Quinoa according to package directions.  Use 1 cup of cooked Quinoa for this recipe and save 1/2 cup for lunch on Tuesday.

Whisk the eggs and egg white together.  Then combine all the ingredients in a bowl and mix to combine.  Line your muffin tin with 3 liners and spray with cooking spray.  Divide the mixture evenly among the three muffins.

Bake for 30 mins or until cooked through and golden brown.

One serving is for today

Two servings are breakfast later in the week.

Traditional Irish Soda Bread (3 Points Plus)

Traditional Irish Soda Bread (4 Points Plus)

Makes 1 Loaf – Cut into 12 Wedges

Traditional Irish Soda Bread

 

  • 2 cups All Purpose Flour
  • 2 cups Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1 Tbsp Sugar
  • 1 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 2 cups 1% Buttermilk

In a large bowl whisk together sugar, baking soda and salt.  Make a well in the middle of the flour and add the buttermilk, all at once.

Use your hands to mix buttermilk into flour to form a soft dough.  Turn dough onto lightly floured surface.  Gently knead just a few times to make a smooth ball.

Place loaf onto parchment-lined or greased baking sheet.  With sharp knife, score a large “X” on the top of the dough.

Bake in the centre of the oven for about 35 mins.

The loaf is done when browned and sounds hollow when tapped on the bottom.  Serve warmed with butter and honey.

Spotted Dog Variation

Add 1 cup of raisins or currants and 1 tsp Caraway Seeds to the flour.

Beef Stew (8 Points Plus)

Beef Stew (8 Points Plus)

Serves 4

  • 1lb Beef Round, all fat removed and cubed
  • 1 Tbsp Vegetable Oil
  • 1.5 Tbsp Whole Wheat Flour
  • Salt and Pepper
  • 2 medium Onions, diced
  • 2 Garlic Cloves, Minced
  • 1.5 Tbsp Tomatoe Paste
  • ¾ cup Beef Broth
  • 2 large Carrots, chopped
  • 2 medium Red Potatoes, chopped
  • 2 sprigs Thyme

Heat a large soup pot over medium high heat with oil.  Add the beef and brown on all sides.  Sprinkle with flour, salt and pepper.  Cook for 1 min longer, stirring.

Add the onions, garlic, tomato paste and beef broth.  Bring to a boil and then turn down to simmer.  Cook for 5 mins, scraping any bits off the bottom of the pot.

Add the carrots, potatoes and thyme.  Cover and simmer on low for 2-3 hours until meat is very tender.  You can also cook in the oven at 300 degrees.

Simply Filling: Simple and Filling Food Choices

My journey to healthier food choices

aLittleLessJen

Jen's weight loss journey.

Mama Mouse Says

♡Recipes & reviews for healthy living♡

Danica's Daily

My journey to healthier food choices

A Girls Journey From Fat to Fat-Free

My journey to healthier food choices

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.